Catalog
2017-18

Academic Calendar*

2017 Fall Semester

Month Date Day Event
August 28 Monday Classes Begin
September 01 Friday Late Registration & Add/Drop Ends
September 04 Monday Labor Day – No Classes
September 19 Tuesday Senate Meeting
October 09 Monday Columbus Day Holiday – No Classes
October 10 Tuesday Monday Schedule
October 16 Monday Mid-Term Grades Due
October 17 Tuesday Senate Meeting
November 01 Wednesday Web Registration Begins -Spring 2018
November 17 Friday Last day to withdraw from courses
November 21 Tuesday Senate Meeting
November 22-24 Wed-Fri Thanksgiving Holiday – No Classes
December 08 Friday Last Day of Classes
December 11-16 Mon-Sat Finals Week– Winter Recess Begins after Last Examination
December 18 Monday Fall 2017 Online Grading closes at 4pm

2017-2018 Winter Intersession

Month Date Day Event
December 18 Monday Classes Begin
December 25-29 Mon-Fri Christmas Break-College Closed
January 01 Monday New Year's Day-College Closed
January 12 Friday Last Day of Winter Intersession
January 15 Monday Martin Luther King Holiday - College closed

2018 Spring Semester

Month Date Day Event
January 17 Wednesday Classes Begin
January 24 Wednesday Late Registration & Add/Drop Ends
January 30 Tuesday Deadline to submit incomplete work to Faculty for Fall 2017
February 05 Monday Deadline for Faculty to submit grades for Fall 2017 "I" Grades
February 20 Tuesday Senate Meeting
March 06 Tuesday Mid - Term Grades Due
March 12-16 Mon-Fri Spring Break
March 20 Tuesday Senate Meeting
March 29-31 Thurs-Sat Easter Holiday-No Classes
April 01-02 Sun-Mon Easter Holiday-No Classes
April 03 Tuesday Web Registration Begins for Fall 2018
April 04 Wednesday Monday Schedule
April 07 Saturday St. De La Salle Day: The Feast of St. John Baptist de la Salle, Patron of Teachers
April 13 Friday Last day to withdraw from course
April 17 Tuesday Senate Meeting
May 04 Friday Last Day of Classes
May 05-06 Sat-Sun Reading Days
May 07-12 Mon-Sat Finals Week
May 13-17 Sun-Thurs Senior Days
May 14 Monday Summer Session I Begins
May 15 Tuesday Spring 2018 Online Grading closes at 12 noon
May 16 Wednesday Spring Commencement (GM & SCPS Division)
May 18 Friday The One Hundred and Seventy-Sixth Commencement (Undergraduate)
July 05 Thursday Deadline to submit incomplete work to Faculty for Spring 2018

2018 Summer Sessions                          

Month Date Day Event
May 14 Monday Summer Session I begins
June 29 Friday Summer Session I ends
July 02 Monday Summer Session II begins
August 17 Friday Summer Session II ends

* Manhattan College reserves the right to make changes as circumstances require.

Special Sessions

The College provides special sessions in January, May, and during the summer. These special sessions are scheduled primarily for the benefit of students matriculated at Manhattan College but are also open to properly qualified applicants from other accredited institutions. By attending a special session a student may lighten his/her course load for subsequent periods of instruction, make up for deficient credits, or elect extra credits to diversify and enrich his/her academic program. A student may be required to attend a special session if his/her scholastic performance is poor, or if his/her record contains D or F grades in required, prerequisite or sequential courses. The College will normally not accept credits taken at another institution for required, prerequisite or sequential courses.

All special session courses are the same in the length of periods as those described in the Catalog for the normal academic semesters. Final examinations will be given in each course. Members of the regular teaching staff of the College constitute the special session faculty.

Students from other colleges must present written authorization from the Dean or other qualified officials of their college to enroll in a special session.

Special sessions are held in January, May, June, and July. These short but intensive programs permit a full-time or part-time college student the opportunity to gain additional credits for self-growth, enrichment, and to accelerate the completion of the degree process.

Schedules for special sessions are available in November and April. The enrollment of a minimum number of students will be required for offering any course in the intersession or summer session.

Back To Top